Children · Combat · Faith · Family · Life, Relationships · Men · Parenting · Psychology · Veterans · War · Women

Jonesing for Juice…

image

This is day 1 of my juice/vegetable cleanse. The juices are tasty but I am hungry as all get out. Earlier today, I stared out of the kitchen window and watched one of the bunnies that frequents the backyard – graze and hop about. This is nothing new, but this time the experience was quite different. I wondered how old the rabbit was and, as I looked at his hind legs, how they would taste. Somewhere in between stewed and fried rabbit, I reminded myself that I don’t eat rabbits and I definitely don’t hunt!

I have forgiven myself for the 2 (ok3) soft boiled eggs I ate this afternoon, but at least (in my mind) it was healthy choice. My fantasies of killing and eating the rabbit were quelled by fresh asparagus and mushrooms. My body hurts – literally – not metaphorically – and several times throughout the day I broke out into a cold sweat. I would like to think that it is the toxins leaving my body, but I am just not sure. Everything is sore but I am doing ok. I think I feel differently but I really don’t know.

Oh, and how I could I forget to mention that one of the side effects of my new healthy choice lifestyle was a self-imposed exile (of sorts) as my daughters basketball game – bubble gut – the winds – you catch my drift? My youngest daughter thought it was hilarious. I, on the other hand was mortified. Making dinner for the Natives was harder than usual because I could not partake. I think they enjoyed it though, and in their own way, are being as supportive as possible. I appreciate that. I appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

