Uncategorized

Holding On….

My father used to say – “there are none so blind as those who refuse to see.” He was right. Until we are ready to face the truth – we really are unable to see it. Looking back on this post and seeing clearly now, what I could not see then, I realize that truth is not something that appears all at once. Truth is something that happens slowly over time. More plainly put, truth shows itself to us, only when we are ready to see it.

Thisblackwomansopinion's Blog

image

Each day we make choices – some small – some large- but we make choices as to what we hold on to and what we let go off.  What we let go of in the process of holding on, determines the outcome of whatever it is we are attempting to create.

 The song The Gambler (Kenny Rogers) says, “You’ve got to know when to hold up – know when to fold up – know when to walk away – know when to run.”  I do not gamble, yet have to agree with the lyrics.  In life, one must acquire the ability to walk the fine line between holding and letting go. 

As I contemplated leaving the marriage that I entered without much forethought, I did so with fear.  I was afraid of not turning every stone. I was so very terrified of being “let go” that I held on with all my might. 

View original post 1,370 more words

Leave a Reply

